The Most Innovative Exporter Award – ECGC-D&B Indian Exporters’ Excellence Awards 2015

Dun & Bradstreet, the world’s leading provider of global business information, knowledge and insight, in association with Export Credit Guarantee Corporation of India Ltd (ECGC) announced the ECGC – D&B Indian Exporters Excellence Awards to recognize the contribution of the Exporters to the Indian economy. Arjuna Natural Extracts Ltd bagged the Most Innovative Exporter Award at a formal function held on March 07, 2015 at Trident, Nariman Point, Mumbai.


Mr. P.J Kunjachan (Chairman & Managing Director) received the excellence award from Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, Hon’ble Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Commerce & Industry, Government of India. Speaking at the occasion Mr. P.J Kunjachan expressed his heartfelt gratitude and congratulated ECGC – D&B for spearheading excellence awards of such grant stature. “Occasions like these are extremely encouraging and will certainly boost the morale of the Indian exporters to pursue excellence in their respective fields” he said. Arjuna Natural Extracts Ltd was in the news for receiving a US patent for the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease. The company has recently launched world’s first nitrate extract from Red Spinach.

About ECGC – D&B Indian Exporters’ Excellence Awards 2015

Indian Exporters’ Excellence Awards 2015 is a tribute to the leading exporters from various sectors which include manufacturing, trading and services. Companies with minimum 10% revenue from the export sales for FY14 were eligible for nomination. The award ceremony included a total of 33 awards categories across various revenue segments providing opportunity for all types of exporters across the country.

The awards were classified into two broad categories – Theme-based Awards and Special Awards. Theme-based categories included awards in areas of corporate social responsibility, diversification, innovation, risk management practices, rural, SEZ, woman entrepreneur, focus products and focus markets. A winner and runner-up were chosen in each of the theme-based award category.

For special awards category, companies have been classified into four revenue categories based on total income of FY14 – micro (less than ₹100m), small (₹100m-₹1,000m); medium (₹1,000m-₹5,000m) and large (above ₹5,000m). Award winners were chosen in individual revenue categories of each operational group, viz, manufacturing, trading and services. Further an overall winner was chosen across each of the revenue categories.

To invite nominations across various categories, nomination forms were sent out to the exporter community at large. Additionally, mass media channels such as advertisements in leading business news dailies were used to spread awareness about the awards. Subsequent to the nomination, a D&B proprietary model based on financial and operational parameters was used to shortlist high performing exporters.

The final step in the awards process was an evaluation by an independent jury panel consisting of eminent experts. The jury comprised of:

Shri. Sanjeev Nandwani Development Commissioner for SEZs
Additional DFGT – East & North-East region
Development Commissioner, SEZs for Andhra and Telengana regions
Shri. M. Narendra

Former Chairman and Managing Director, Indian Overseas Bank
Dr. Abhay Pethe Chair Professor, Economics Department, Mumbai University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *